french ginger thins

 

IMG_3014

I love eating ginger thins or gingerbread or ginger snaps, but can’t we please  agree on ONE name for these delicious and so very warming Christmas cookie?

However I don’t like baking them, its an ungodly long job, and every body wants to be apart of it for the first five minutes before I’m abandoned and left to finish on my own. So this year I thought, I’m not making ginger thins and as I told my friends they all became upset and sad, but it serves them right for not helping me.

But a few days after my decision of not making them, I realized I could invent a new recipe, that taste like ginger thins but is all the easier.

The basics of this recipe is in the French sables cookie, and then I incorporated almonds and spices and the works of ginger thins to it, and it became delicious and so tasty.

So put on some Christmas music, have a dance around and make these Christmas cookies.

 

Ingredients

1.8 sticks / 200 g butter

0.8 cups/ 2 dl sugar

0.4 cups1 dl honey

3 tsp. cinnamon

2 tsp. ginger

2 tsp. cloves

1 tsp. bicarbonate of soda

2.5 cups / 6 dl flour

0.6 cups/ 1 ½ dl chopped almonds

IMG_3017

Directions

Stir together butter, sugar, honey, gloves, cinnamon, and ginger.

Add bicarbonate mixed with flour and almonds.

Mix everything well and thoroughly.

Divide the dough in two and make two rather thin rectangles.

Wrap in plastic and let rest in the fridge for an hour.

Preheat oven to 390°F / 200°c

Cut the dough in thin slices and cook for 10-12 minutes.

Enjoy!

IMG_3021

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment